Whether you have only just decided to start looking into the benefits of probiotics, or you have been enjoying probiotics for years, there is no doubt that you most probably still have a few questions regarding probiotics and fermented foods. Today we are going to be discussing milk kefir, as this is something in which we have previously received an abundance of questions about. We are going to be providing people with a brief understating of the miracle drink, and answering some of the FAQs.
Milk kefir is a probiotic drink which can be made by using either milk kefir grains or a powdered kefir starter culture. These grains and starter cultures can be used to culture coconut milk and dairy products – offering a multitude of health benefits to all.
- What does milk kefir taste like?
- The taste of milk kefir can vary and change depending on what kind of milk is used. Many people describe milk kefir to have a sour taste, however an enjoyable taste. Although people can make their own milk kefir easily at home it is advisable for people to buy a bottle from their local grocery store before making their own, simply to see if they enjoy the taste.
- Does milk kefir contain alcohol?
- Small amounts of alcohol can be found in milk kefir – but this is generally expected when it comes to fermented and fermented and cultured foods. The amount found in milk kefir is typically so low that people need not worry.
- Does milk kefir offer the same benefits as water kefir?
- Milk kefir in fact contains more strains of bacteria and beneficial yeasts than water kefir, making it more beneficial for all.
Making Milk kefir at Home
- Why should people make their own milk kefir at home?
- When making milk kefir in the majority of cases people are able to create milk kefir in which contains more beneficial bacteria and yeasts than those which can be bought in the shops.
- Can I have milk kefir if I am allergic to dairy?
- If you are allergic to dairy you should probably stick to water kefir, or consult your doctor for further advice and guidance.
- Does homemade milk kefir contain gluten?
- Homemade milk kefir does not contain gluten.
Milk kefir is great for one’s health and even better when it is made at home, with more and more people deciding to make their own on a daily basis in the UK. If you are therefore thinking about making your own we would advise that you go ahead. Ensure that you find a good supplier though, one in which not only provide leading equipment but also expert knowledge and guidance at all times.